Supplements

Best Biotin Supplements in India (2026): Top Picks Reviewed & Ranked

By Naveen Bhavnani||12 min read|7 products compared|Rs.399 - Rs.375

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. We could also earn a fee through some links when you click on them.

Quick Answer

Tata 1mg Hair, Skin & Nails Supreme at Rs.375 is our top pick - it skips the misleading '10,000 mcg' headline, names collagen, zinc, iron and B-complex individually, comes from a traceable Tata Group pharmacy brand, and has the best recent Indian buyer record in the category at Rs.6.25 a day. If you want the deepest evidence base and the lowest running cost instead, Carbamide Forte's 120-tablet pack at Rs.549 is Rs.4.58 a day for a four-month supply with 201 verified India reviews behind it - as long as you can live with a listing that states two doses 333 times apart.

Best Overall
Tata 1mg Hair, Skin & Nails Supreme Biotin Capsule with Collagen, Zinc, Iron and Vitamin B, For Men & Women, Pack of 60 — Biotin Supplements
7.9

Tata 1mg Hair, Skin & Nails Supreme Biotin Capsule with Collagen, Zinc, Iron and Vitamin B, For Men & Women, Pack of 60

Rs.375

Most Proven Track Record
Carbamide Forte Biotin Tablets for Hair Growth, Biotin Supplement 10000 mcg, 120 Tablets — Biotin Supplements
7.0

Carbamide Forte Biotin Tablets for Hair Growth, Biotin Supplement 10000 mcg, 120 Tablets

Rs.549

Product Comparison

Price
Rs.375
Cost per Day
Rs.6.25
Item Form
Capsule
Biotin Dose Stated?
Not stated
Check Price
Price
Rs.549
Cost per Day
Rs.4.58
Item Form
Tablet
Biotin Dose Stated?
Contradictory (10,000 mcg vs 100% RDA)
Check Price
Price
Rs.487
Cost per Day
Rs.9.74
Item Form
Tablet
Biotin Dose Stated?
Not stated
Check Price
Price
Rs.399
Cost per Day
Rs.4.43
Item Form
Tablet
Biotin Dose Stated?
Contradictory (10,000 / 5,000 / 1,000 mcg)
Check Price
Price
Rs.599
Cost per Day
Rs.9.98
Item Form
Gummy
Biotin Dose Stated?
Not stated
Check Price
Price
Rs.1,070
Cost per Day
Rs.35.67
Item Form
Capsule
Biotin Dose Stated?
Not stated
Check Price
Price
Rs.399
Cost per Day
Rs.4.43
Item Form
Tablet
Biotin Dose Stated?
10,000 mcg claimed (Sesbania-sourced)
Check Price

Detailed Reviews

1

Tata 1mg Hair, Skin & Nails Supreme Biotin Capsule with Collagen, Zinc, Iron and Vitamin B, For Men & Women, Pack of 60

Best Overall

7.9

Great

Key Specs

Item FormCapsule
Biotin Dose Stated?Not stated
Cost per DayRs.6.25
Net Quantity60 capsules
Serving1 capsule per day
Key ActivesBiotin, Collagen, Zinc, Iron, Vitamin B-complex
Recent Negative %10% (best in this selection)
Country of OriginIndia

Pros

  • Best recent buyer record in the category - 18 of the 20 most-recent verified India reviews are 4-5 star, a 10% recent negative rate and the lowest of every product examined
  • The newest positive verified India review landed on 3 August 2026, so Indian buyers are vouching for it now rather than two years ago
  • Does not run the misleading '10,000 mcg' headline that most of this category uses, and makes no plant-biotin claim in its own bullets
  • A genuine multi-nutrient formula - collagen, zinc, iron and B-complex are named individually rather than hidden in a proprietary blend
  • Tata Group-owned pharmacy brand: a traceable, regulated Indian corporate entity rather than an anonymous marketplace seller
  • At Rs.6.25 a day it undercuts every gummy in the category and Nutrova by roughly five times
  • Not one complaint about foul smell, expired stock, short counts or duplicate product across all 46 verified India reviews - every one of which was reported against rival products here

Cons

  • The listing never states how many mcg of biotin a capsule contains - you are trusting the brand on the dose
  • No published third-party heavy-metal Certificate of Analysis and no USP, NSF or Informed Choice seal - true of essentially this entire category in India
  • Thin verified review base: only 46 India text reviews sit behind the 680 ratings, so the strong recent record rests on a modest sample
  • Many of the positive reviews are very short ('Good', 'Very good product'), which limits how much detail can be drawn from them
  • At Rs.6.25 a day it costs roughly 40% more per day than the plain Carbamide Forte and Himalayan Organics tablets

Our Verdict: This wins on what it does not do: it never headlines a '10,000 mcg' figure that turns out to be plant-extract weight, and its recent Indian buyers are overwhelmingly positive right now rather than during a launch wave two years ago. The formula is a real one, with collagen, zinc, iron and B-complex each named and a Tata-owned pharmacy brand standing behind it. The trade-off is that Tata still will not tell you the biotin dose per capsule, and the verified review base is modest.

Check Price on Amazon

Prices updated at time of publishing. We earn from qualifying purchases.

Rs.375
2

Carbamide Forte Biotin Tablets for Hair Growth, Biotin Supplement 10000 mcg, 120 Tablets

Most Proven Track Record

7.0

Great

Key Specs

Item FormTablet
Biotin Dose Stated?Contradictory (10,000 mcg vs 100% RDA)
Cost per DayRs.4.58
Net Quantity120 tablets (4-month supply)
Serving1 tablet per day
Diet TypeVegan
ManufacturerNovus Life Sciences Pvt Ltd, Mumbai
Recent Negative %20%

Pros

  • By far the largest genuine Indian evidence base in the category - 201 verified India text reviews behind 7,337 ratings, 134 of them from the last year
  • Review flow is steady month after month since 2023 with no launch burst or seeding spike, so the 4.1-star rating rests on sustained real demand
  • Rs.4.58 per tablet for a true four-month supply - among the lowest running costs of any evidenced product here
  • Selling at scale right now at 3K+ units a month, the joint-highest velocity in the tablet segment
  • Tablets consistently described as easy to swallow with no aftertaste, and no sugar load unlike the gummy alternatives
  • Names a real contract manufacturer with a full Mumbai address rather than hiding behind the brand name
  • Very low rate of side-effect complaints - only 2 of 201 reviews mention acne and 3 mention stomach upset

Cons

  • The listing contradicts itself on the dose: one bullet says '10000mcg of Biotin', another says the biotin is at '100% RDA' (about 30 mcg) - a roughly 333-fold discrepancy the listing never resolves
  • 24 of the 201 verified India reviews report no visible difference at all, the single most common complaint
  • A clear templated-review cluster: several 5-star reviews share the same structure of reciting the brand name and pack size back ('I've been using Biotinova 120 Tabs by Carbamide Forte consistently...', 3 August 2026)
  • No published heavy-metal Certificate of Analysis or recognised third-party seal
  • If the 10,000 mcg figure is the accurate one, that dose interferes with thyroid and troponin blood tests and the listing carries no warning

Our Verdict: Nothing else in this category comes close on the breadth and steadiness of its Indian evidence: 201 verified reviews accumulating evenly for three years with no seeding spike, at Rs.4.58 a tablet for four months of supply. What holds it back is that its own listing states two mutually exclusive doses and never resolves them, and roughly one in eight buyers reports no visible difference. Buy it for the track record and the running cost, not for label clarity.

Check Price on Amazon

Prices updated at time of publishing. We earn from qualifying purchases.

Rs.549
3

Revital Biotin+ with Amla and DHT Blockers for Hair Growth, 50 Tablets

Best Pharma-Backed Option

6.9

Good

Key Specs

Item FormTablet
Biotin Dose Stated?Not stated
Cost per DayRs.9.74
Net Quantity50 tablets
Serving1 tablet per day
Key ActivesBiotin, Amla, Zinc, Vitamin E, Pantothenic Acid, DHT blockers
ManufacturerSun Pharma
Recent Negative %25%

Pros

  • The only product in this selection made by a large regulated pharmaceutical company (Sun Pharma), a genuinely different manufacturing risk profile from an anonymous supplement seller
  • Freshest Indian evidence in the category - 131 of its 133 verified India reviews are from the last twelve months
  • Selling strongly at 2K+ units a month despite launching only in March 2025
  • Does not run the misleading '10,000 mcg' plant-extract headline and makes no Sesbania claim in its own bullets
  • Coherent combination formula with amla, zinc, vitamin E and pantothenic acid each named individually
  • Buyers independently report skin and radiance benefits alongside hair effects, consistent with the vitamin E and amla content

Cons

  • Highest rate of adverse-reaction reports in this selection - three independent verified buyers describe allergic rashes, persistent acne and stomach pain with bleeding, and 10 of 133 reviews mention digestive effects
  • 25% of the 20 most-recent verified India reviews are 1-2 star
  • The review base is heavily launch-weighted: 70 of 133 verified India reviews landed in October and November 2025 alone, so the 4.1-star rating is built largely on a two-month promotional wave
  • One verified buyer alleges receiving a duplicate product through a buy-one-get-one offer
  • At Rs.9.74 a day it is more than double the plain Carbamide Forte tablets
  • Biotin quantity per tablet is not stated on the listing

Our Verdict: Sun Pharma manufacturing and the freshest Indian review base in the category make this the most credible non-Tata option, and the amla, zinc, vitamin E and pantothenic acid combination is sensibly built. But it also draws more adverse-reaction reports than anything else here, and most of its rating was earned in a two-month launch wave rather than over time. If you buy it, start low and stop if you react.

Check Price on Amazon

Prices updated at time of publishing. We earn from qualifying purchases.

Rs.487
4

Carbamide Forte Biotin Tablets for Hair Growth, Biotin Supplement 10000 mcg, 90 Tablets

6.7

Good

Key Specs

Item FormTablet
Biotin Dose Stated?Contradictory (10,000 / 5,000 / 1,000 mcg)
Cost per DayRs.4.43
Net Quantity90 tablets (3-month supply)
Serving1 tablet per day
Diet TypePlant based
ManufacturerNovus Life Sciences Pvt Ltd, Mumbai
Recent Negative %25%

Pros

  • Joint-lowest cost per tablet in the selection at Rs.4.43, for a three-month supply at Rs.399
  • All 109 verified India reviews are from the last year, so the evidence is entirely current with nothing stale in the mix
  • Strong efficacy signal relative to its bigger sibling - only 2 of 109 reviews report no difference, against 17 reporting visible improvement
  • Selling well for a listing only seven months old, at 1K+ units a month
  • Same named Mumbai contract manufacturer as the long-established 120-tablet version
  • Plant-based, vegan-suitable tablet with no sugar load

Cons

  • Two independent verified buyers report receiving a 60-tablet bottle after ordering the 90-tablet pack - one of them on 3 August 2026 - which is both a fulfilment-integrity problem and a direct hit to the value case
  • The listing states three mutually inconsistent doses: 10,000 mcg in the title, a bullet referencing 5,000 mcg, and 'Biotin tablets for Hair growth 1000mcg' in the same bullet
  • 38 of its 109 verified India reviews landed in March 2026 alone - a launch-window wave that is where most of the 4.2-star rating was set
  • One review describes 'the patches themselves', a product this listing does not sell, suggesting at least one review was carried over from something else
  • Small rating base of 224 against 1K+ monthly sales, so the rating is still immature
  • No published heavy-metal Certificate of Analysis or recognised seal

Our Verdict: On paper this is the cheapest way into the Carbamide Forte range at Rs.4.43 a tablet, and its efficacy reviews read better than its bigger sibling's. The problem is delivery integrity: two separate verified buyers received 60 tablets instead of 90, one of them days before this research was completed, which quietly undoes the whole value case. If you buy it, count the tablets before the return window closes.

Check Price on Amazon

Prices updated at time of publishing. We earn from qualifying purchases.

Rs.399
5

Carbamide Forte Biotin Hair Gummies for Hair Growth, 60 Gummies

6.4

Good

Key Specs

Item FormGummy
Biotin Dose Stated?Not stated
Cost per DayRs.9.98
Net Quantity60 gummies
Recent Negative %5%
Country of OriginIndia

Pros

  • Second-best recent star mix in the selection - only 5% of the 20 most-recent verified India reviews are 1-2 star
  • Substantial and sustained evidence base: 173 verified India reviews with 56 from the last year, accumulating since 2021
  • Genuinely pleasant to take, which matters for a supplement that only works if you keep taking it for months - repeatedly described as tasty and easy to remember
  • 26 of 173 reviews report visible hair, nail or energy benefits
  • Established listing with over five years of continuous Indian review history

Cons

  • The biotin dose is unresolvable: two verified buyers state figures more than 300-fold apart ('biotin equal to 100% RDA' versus 'Each gummy delivers 10,000 mcg'), and the brand's own tablet listing says biotin gummies generally provide 'only 40 mcg'
  • Highest acne complaint rate in the selection - 8 of 173 verified India reviews report acne or breakouts
  • 16 of 173 reviews report no difference at all
  • At Rs.9.98 a gummy it costs more than double the same brand's tablets
  • 16 of 173 reviews raise sugar or sweetness, and two report receiving expired stock
  • Stock has run low at times on this listing, so availability is not guaranteed

Our Verdict: If you know you will not stick with tablets, this has the best recent buyer record of any gummy we examined and five years of Indian review history behind it. But you pay more than double the brand’s own tablet price for a format its own listing suggests carries a fraction of the biotin, and it draws more acne complaints than anything else here. Choose it because it is the one you will actually take daily, not because it is better value.

Check Price on Amazon

Prices updated at time of publishing. We earn from qualifying purchases.

Rs.599
6

Nutrova Kerastrength for Men & Women with Biotin, 30 Capsules

6.3

Good

Key Specs

Item FormCapsule
Biotin Dose Stated?Not stated
Cost per DayRs.35.67
Net Quantity30 capsules
Serving1 capsule per day
Key ActivesBiotin, Vitamins A, C, D3, B-complex, Lycopene, DHT inhibitor
Recent Negative %15%
Country of OriginIndia

Pros

  • Best-constructed formula in the selection after the Tata Supreme - vitamins A, C, D3, B-complex and lycopene, each named individually rather than pooled into a proprietary blend
  • Highest star rating of any product in the selection at 4.4
  • Cleanest side-effect profile examined - zero acne reports and only one stomach report across 49 verified India reviews
  • Only 15% of the 20 most-recent verified India reviews are 1-2 star
  • Science-led brand that publishes formulation rationale rather than front-of-pack megadose claims
  • Five-year Indian review history with no seeding or template pattern

Cons

  • By far the worst value here at Rs.35.67 a day - roughly eight times the cost per day of the Carbamide Forte tablets
  • Selling at Rs.1,070, above the listing's own stated MRP of Rs.999
  • Only 6 verified India reviews in the last twelve months, so the strong recent star mix rests on very thin current evidence
  • A 30-capsule pack lasts only a month, so repeat purchase costs mount quickly
  • Biotin quantity per capsule is not stated
  • No published heavy-metal Certificate of Analysis or recognised third-party seal

Our Verdict: Nutrova builds a genuinely more thoughtful formula than the single-vitamin tablets that dominate this category, and it has the cleanest side-effect record of anything we examined. The problem is arithmetic: at Rs.35.67 a day it costs roughly eight times the Carbamide Forte tablets, it is selling above its own stated MRP, and only six Indian buyers have reviewed it in the past year.

Check Price on Amazon

Prices updated at time of publishing. We earn from qualifying purchases.

Rs.1,070
7

Vlado's Himalayan Organics Biotin 10000 mcg for Hair Growth, Glowing Skin & Strong Nails, 90 Tablets

Budget Tablet

6.2

Good

Key Specs

Item FormTablet
Biotin Dose Stated?10,000 mcg claimed (Sesbania-sourced)
Cost per DayRs.4.43
Net Quantity90 tablets (3-month supply)
Serving1 tablet per day
Diet TypeVegan
Recent Negative %0% - produced by a same-week review wave, not a track record
Country of OriginIndia

Pros

  • Joint-cheapest tablet here at Rs.4.43 each, with a three-month supply for Rs.399
  • Highest star rating in the selection alongside Nutrova at 4.4 - though see the caveat below
  • Vegan single-ingredient tablet with no sugar load and no proprietary blend
  • Buyers consistently describe the tablets as easy to swallow with no aftertaste
  • Heavily discounted against a Rs.1,085 stated MRP

Cons

  • Serious review-authenticity problem: only 23 verified India text reviews sit behind 1,085 ratings, and 18 of those arrived in the five weeks before this research - including eight on a single day, all 5-star and near-identically worded. The 4.4-star headline should not be trusted
  • Dose is ambiguous: this page claims '10000 mcg of high potency Biotin per tablet' while the same brand's sibling listing attributes that figure to Sesbania grandiflora extract weight, not biotin
  • Weakest manufacturer traceability in the selection - the listed manufacturer's only contact detail is a Gmail address
  • 'Organics' in the brand name certifies farming practice, not finished-product heavy-metal testing, and should not be read as a purity signal
  • No published heavy-metal Certificate of Analysis or recognised third-party seal
  • No lab-test-interference warning despite a 10,000 mcg headline claim

Our Verdict: At Rs.4.43 a tablet this matches the cheapest running cost in the selection, and as a plain vegan single-ingredient tablet there is nothing objectionable in what it claims to be. Be clear-eyed about what you are not getting: a 4.4-star rating built on 23 genuine reviews, most posted in a single recent wave with eight on one day, tells you almost nothing about whether it works. The Carbamide Forte 90-tablet pack costs the same and has 109 current reviews behind it.

Check Price on Amazon

Prices updated at time of publishing. We earn from qualifying purchases.

Rs.399

How We Evaluated

We don’t run a lab — we research, analyse and compare. Biotin is an unusual category to shop in India because the biggest number on the pack is almost never the number you are buying. So we worked only from what is checkable: the exact wording of each listing, whether the mcg figures in the title, the bullets and the spec table agree with each other, what the brand says about where its biotin comes from, who actually manufactures the product and whether they can be traced, the price shown on the Amazon.in product page converted into a cost per day, and what verified Indian buyers reported after weeks and months of daily use — with the most recent three months weighted twice as heavily as everything older.

Our scoring weights five criteria. Biotin Dose Accuracy & Form (25%) is the one that did most of the work: it rewards a clearly stated dose with a %RDA figure, and penalises hard any listing that states two or three mutually inconsistent numbers or hides the real dose behind a plant-extract weight. Crucially, a bigger mcg number never raised a score on its own. Formula Quality & Supporting Actives (20%) rewards hair-relevant nutrients — zinc, iron, collagen, B-complex, vitamin D3 — that are individually named and quantified, and penalises proprietary blends, fairy-dusted keratin and heavy sugar loads in gummies. A plain single-ingredient tablet is a legitimate design and was not marked down for lacking extras. Purity & Safety (20%) counts only verifiable evidence, and since not one product in this category carries a USP, NSF or Informed Choice seal or publishes a heavy-metal Certificate of Analysis, it fell back to manufacturing provenance: a regulated pharmaceutical manufacturer ranks above a traceable listed company with a full address, which ranks far above a brand whose only manufacturer contact is a Gmail address. Tolerability & Real-World Results (20%) reads the recent verified Indian reviews rather than the lifetime star average. Value for Money (15%) normalises everything to cost per day at the label’s own serving size, using the logged-out consumer price.

Two rules reordered the field more than anything else. First, a genuine recent 1–2 star share at or above roughly 40% is a reliability failure regardless of the lifetime rating — that alone removed HK Vitals (45%) and Tata 1mg’s own Biotin+ Advanced (50%, with foul-smell complaints in 37 of 124 reviews). Second, a spotless recent record is a warning, not a result, until you check how it was produced: one product here shows 0% recent negatives off 18 reviews posted in five weeks, eight of them on a single day, and we scored it at the neutral mark rather than rewarding it. Where a listing never stated a real dose, or contradicted itself, we capped that criterion at 5.5 however clean the rest of the product looked. Of 26 products screened, 7 survived.

Buying Guide

The ‘10,000 mcg’ on the front of the pack is usually not biotin

This is the single most important thing to understand before buying biotin in India, and it catches almost everyone. Scroll the Amazon.in listings and you will see ‘10,000 mcg’ on product after product. In most cases that number is the weight of Sesbania grandiflora (agati) leaf extract — a plant that genuinely contains biotin, but in small amounts — not the weight of biotin itself. The brands are not always hiding it. Health Veda Organics writes ‘Formulated with Biotin 10000mcg (Sesbania Extract)’ in its own marketing. Vlado’s Himalayan Organics writes ‘10000 mcg of Biotin naturally sourced from Sesbania Grandiflora extract’. ZEROHARM puts ‘from Sesbania Grandiflora’ in the product title. What you actually swallow is typically biotin at or near the 30 mcg daily requirement — roughly 333 times less than the headline implies. Some listings contradict themselves outright: Carbamide Forte’s 120-tablet page claims ‘10000mcg of Biotin’ in one bullet and ‘100% RDA BIOTIN… in accordance with the recommended daily allowance’ in another, and its 90-tablet page adds a third figure of ‘1000mcg’. Before you buy, search the listing text for ‘Sesbania’ and for ‘RDA’. If either appears alongside a five-figure mcg claim, you now know which number is real.

Why a 30 mcg dose is not the disaster it sounds like

Having just explained that most ‘10,000 mcg’ products deliver about 30 mcg, here is the twist: 30 mcg is the correct daily requirement for an adult, and there is no strong evidence that megadosing biotin improves hair in people who are not actually deficient. Genuine biotin deficiency is rare outside specific conditions. So the problem with these products is not that the dose is small — it is that the label misleads you about what you are buying and what you are paying for. A brand charging a premium for ‘10,000 mcg’ while delivering 30 mcg is selling you a story. An honestly-labelled RDA-dose product, meanwhile, has a real advantage that the next section explains. Judge a biotin supplement on whether it tells you the truth, not on how big its number is.

High-dose biotin will corrupt your blood test results

This is a genuine safety issue that almost no Indian listing warns about. Biotin at doses of 5,000 mcg and above interferes with a wide range of laboratory immunoassays, including thyroid tests (TSH and T4), troponin — used to diagnose heart attacks — and vitamin D. The interference can push results high or low depending on the test, and it has led to real misdiagnoses internationally, falsely suggesting hyperthyroidism in some cases and masking a heart attack by suppressing a troponin reading in others. If you genuinely are taking a high-dose biotin product, stop it at least 48 to 72 hours before any blood test and tell the person taking your sample. None of the products we examined carried such a warning on the listing. This is also a quiet argument in favour of the RDA-dose products: at 30 to 40 mcg, the problem simply does not arise.

Read the recent reviews, not the star rating

Star ratings in this category are frequently set during a single promotional month and then coast for years. Revital took 47 of its 133 Indian reviews in October 2025 alone. Centrum took 50 of 107 in November 2023 and has had just three in the past year. Vlado’s 90-count shows a 4.4-star rating backed by only 23 genuine Indian text reviews, 18 of which arrived in the five weeks before this research with eight on a single day, all 5-star and near-identically worded. A 4.4-star rating built that way tells you nothing. When you are looking at a listing, filter reviews to ‘Most recent’ and ‘Verified purchase only’, then check three things: how many reviews are from the last year rather than from a launch wave; whether recent reviews are spread across several months or piled into one week; and whether the wording varies naturally or repeats the same structure and recites the exact pack size back to you. A wall of identical praise dated within days of itself is a marketing spend, not a consensus.

Tablets, gummies or capsules — and the sugar question

Gummies exist because people actually take them, and adherence genuinely matters for a supplement that needs months of consistent use. That is a real advantage, not a trivial one. But the trade-offs are concrete. Gummies in this category cost roughly double the equivalent tablets from the same brand — Carbamide Forte’s gummies run Rs.9.98 each against Rs.4.43 to Rs.4.58 for its tablets — and the brand’s own tablet listing states that biotin gummies typically provide ‘only 40 mcg’. Sugar is a recurring complaint: 16 of 173 reviews of the Carbamide Forte gummies and 15 of 82 for Wellbeing Nutrition’s strips raise sweetness or sugar content unprompted, and one Centrum buyer described the product simply as ‘a ball of sugar’. Gummies also melt and degrade more readily in Indian heat and monsoon humidity, with several buyers across brands reporting expired or spoiled stock. If you know you will not stick with tablets, a gummy is the right choice — just do not expect it to be either cheaper or higher-dosed.

Acne, stomach upset and what side effects to actually expect

Biotin is water-soluble and generally well tolerated, but two side effects appear consistently in Indian reviews and are worth knowing about. The first is acne and breakouts — the best-documented adverse effect of high-dose biotin, thought to relate to biotin competing with pantothenic acid for absorption. The Carbamide Forte gummies drew acne reports in 8 of 173 reviews, the highest rate we measured, and Revital drew several, including one buyer still dealing with breakouts six months after stopping. The second is digestive upset: Revital drew stomach complaints in 10 of 133 reviews. Beyond these, watch for problems specific to the product rather than to biotin — an overwhelming foul smell (Tata 1mg’s Biotin+ Advanced drew smell or taste complaints in 37 of its 124 reviews, with buyers comparing it to dog food), expired stock on arrival, and short counts. If you develop a rash, persistent acne or stomach pain, stop and speak to a doctor; several buyers in this research reported serious reactions.

Count your tablets when the parcel arrives

Short-counting turned up repeatedly across brands and it is worth a minute of your time on delivery. Two independent verified buyers of Carbamide Forte’s 90-tablet pack reported receiving 60-tablet bottles — one of them writing three days before this research was completed. A Health Veda Organics buyer ordered 60 and received 45. An HK Vitals buyer found fewer than 60 tablets in a box marked 90. A Swisse buyer found 15 tablets in the package. In every case the buyer only noticed because the bottle ran out early. When a supplement’s whole value proposition rests on cost per tablet, receiving two-thirds of the count you paid for silently converts a good deal into a bad one. Open the bottle, count it, and raise a return immediately if the number is wrong.

Who Should Buy a Biotin Supplement?

  • Anyone with a diagnosed biotin deficiency, or with the specific conditions that cause one — long-term anticonvulsant use, chronic alcohol use, biotinidase deficiency, or a habit of eating raw egg whites. This is the group biotin reliably helps.
  • Pregnant and breastfeeding women, whose biotin requirement rises and who are the most commonly documented group with marginal status — worth discussing with your doctor alongside a multivitamin rather than stacking both blindly.
  • People with brittle, splitting nails, where the evidence is thinner than the marketing but genuinely exists, and where a three-month trial costs a few hundred rupees.
  • Anyone who wants an inexpensive hair, skin and nails insurance policy and understands what they are buying — a broad multi-nutrient formula with zinc, iron and collagen quantified, not a megadose headline.
  • Not for you if your hair loss has a cause biotin cannot touch, which covers most cases: androgenetic alopecia, thyroid disease, PCOS, post-viral or post-partum telogen effluvium, or iron deficiency — which is extremely common in Indian women and is far more likely to be the real culprit. Get ferritin, TSH and vitamin D checked before you spend three months on a biotin tablet. And if you already take a B-complex, a multivitamin or a collagen blend, check the label first — most of them already contain biotin at or above the RDA.

The Bottom Line

For most people, Tata 1mg Hair, Skin & Nails Supreme is the right answer at Rs.375. It earns the top spot largely on restraint: it does not run the ‘10,000 mcg’ headline that turns out to be plant-extract weight, it names collagen, zinc, iron and B-complex individually instead of hiding them in a blend, and it comes from a Tata Group-owned pharmacy brand you can actually hold accountable. It also has the best recent buyer record in the category by a clear margin — 18 of its 20 most-recent verified Indian reviews are 4–5 star, with none of the smell, expiry, short-count or duplicate-product complaints that were reported against every other product here. At Rs.6.25 a day it is not the cheapest, and Tata still will not state the biotin dose per capsule, which is the one thing keeping its score at 7.9 rather than higher.

If you want the deepest evidence base and the lowest running cost, Carbamide Forte’s 120-tablet pack at Rs.549 is the pragmatic choice — Rs.4.58 a day for a true four-month supply, with 201 verified Indian reviews that accumulated steadily month after month since 2023 rather than in a launch burst. Nothing else in this category has a record that survives inspection as well. You are accepting one real flaw in exchange: the listing states two doses 333 times apart and never resolves which is true. If you would rather buy manufacturing accountability than review volume, Revital Biotin+ at Rs.487 is the only product here made by a large regulated pharmaceutical company, with a sensible amla, zinc, vitamin E and pantothenic acid formula — but it also draws the most adverse-reaction reports in this selection, so start on a low dose and stop if you react.

At the budget end, the honest answer is that Rs.399 buys you the same cost per tablet from either Carbamide Forte’s 90-tablet pack or Vlado’s Himalayan Organics, and the Carbamide Forte has 109 current verified reviews behind it against 23 for the Himalayan Organics — most of those posted in a single recent wave, eight on one day. Neither is a bad tablet; the difference is how much you can actually know about them. Count the tablets when either arrives, because both the Carbamide Forte 90-count short-count reports and this category’s wider fulfilment problems are real. And whatever you buy, do the one thing that matters more than the choice itself: get ferritin, TSH and vitamin D checked first. If those come back normal and your biotin intake is already adequate, no tablet in this list will change your hair.


Frequently Asked Questions

Does a '10,000 mcg' biotin supplement really contain 10,000 mcg of biotin?
Usually not, in the Indian market. In most cases that figure is the weight of Sesbania grandiflora (agati) plant extract, from which the biotin is derived - not the weight of biotin itself. Several brands say so openly: Health Veda Organics writes 'Biotin 10000mcg (Sesbania Extract)', Vlado's Himalayan Organics writes '10000 mcg of Biotin naturally sourced from Sesbania Grandiflora extract', and ZEROHARM puts the source in its title. The biotin actually delivered is typically at or near the 30 mcg daily requirement. Search any listing for the word 'Sesbania' before you buy.
How much biotin do I actually need per day?
About 30 mcg a day for an adult, which is the established adequate intake. Genuine biotin deficiency is rare outside specific medical conditions, pregnancy, long-term anticonvulsant use or heavy raw-egg-white consumption. The evidence that megadoses of 5,000 to 10,000 mcg improve hair in people who are not deficient is weak. If your hair loss is caused by iron deficiency, thyroid disease, PCOS or androgenetic alopecia - which covers most cases - no amount of biotin will address it, and you should get the underlying cause investigated.
Will biotin interfere with my blood tests?
Yes, at high doses, and this is the most important safety point in the category. Biotin at 5,000 mcg and above interferes with many laboratory immunoassays including thyroid function tests (TSH, T4), troponin and vitamin D. It can make thyroid results falsely suggest hyperthyroidism, and it can suppress troponin readings in a way that risks masking a heart attack. Stop high-dose biotin at least 48 to 72 hours before any blood test and tell whoever takes your sample. None of the Indian listings we examined carried such a warning. At an RDA-level dose of 30 to 40 mcg the problem does not arise.
Can biotin cause acne?
Yes, and it is the most commonly reported side effect of high-dose biotin. The likely mechanism is biotin competing with pantothenic acid (vitamin B5) for absorption, since B5 supports skin barrier function. In the reviews we analysed, the Carbamide Forte gummies drew acne or breakout reports in 8 of 173 verified Indian reviews, and Revital drew several including one buyer whose breakouts persisted six months after stopping. If you break out after starting biotin, stop and see whether it settles - and consider whether an RDA-dose product would serve you just as well.
How long before I see results from a biotin supplement?
Reviewers who report results generally describe them at two to three months, which fits the hair growth cycle - hair grows roughly 1 cm a month and follicles cycle slowly, so nothing visible can happen in weeks. Several buyers who left negative reviews had judged the product after 30 days. Be aware that roughly one in eight buyers of the most-reviewed product here reported no difference at all even after months, which is consistent with the underlying evidence: biotin reliably helps people who are deficient, and does little for people who are not.
Are biotin gummies as good as tablets?
They are easier to keep taking, which genuinely matters over a three-month course, but they cost more and usually contain less. Carbamide Forte's gummies work out at Rs.9.98 each against Rs.4.43 to Rs.4.58 for its tablets, and the brand's own tablet listing states that biotin gummies typically provide 'only 40 mcg'. Gummies also carry a sugar load that buyers frequently complain about, and they degrade more readily in Indian heat, with reports of expired or spoiled stock across several brands. Choose a gummy if the alternative is not taking anything - not because you expect it to be better value.
Is an 'organic' or 'plant-based' biotin better?
No, and in this category it correlates with worse label transparency rather than better. Organic certification governs how a crop is farmed - it does not test the finished product for heavy metals or verify potency. 'Plant-based biotin' in Indian listings almost always means Sesbania grandiflora extract, which is precisely the source of the misleading 10,000 mcg claims. Neither term tells you anything about whether the product is clean or correctly dosed. Judge on stated dose, manufacturer traceability and published testing instead.
Which biotin brands publish third-party lab testing in India?
As of August 2026, none of them. Across the entire category on Amazon.in, no product we examined carried a recognised finished-product seal such as USP Verified, NSF or Informed Choice, and none published a product-specific heavy-metal Certificate of Analysis. That is an honest and uncomfortable answer. In the absence of testing, the next best signal is manufacturing provenance: a large regulated pharmaceutical manufacturer (Sun Pharma, behind Revital) or a traceable listed corporate entity (Tata 1mg, or Carbamide Forte’s Novus Life Sciences with a full Mumbai address) is a meaningfully different risk profile from a brand whose only listed manufacturer contact is a Gmail address.

References


Naveen Bhavnani

Reviewed by

Naveen Bhavnani

Founder & Lead Reviewer

Founder of Fitness Picks. Researches and compares fitness gear, supplements, and recovery products for the Indian market.

More about Naveen →

Related Reviews

supplements

Best Vitamin B12 Supplements in India (2026): Top Picks Reviewed & Ranked

Most 'plant-based' B12 sold in India is pseudovitamin B12 from spirulina or moringa - inactive in humans. We scored 11 supplements on B12 form, the actual mcg dose, purity evidence and cost per day, and named the ones whose label, dose and buyers' blood tests agree.

7.4/ 10
supplements

Best Vitamin C Supplements in India (2026): Top Picks Reviewed & Ranked

On most Indian vitamin C labels the '1000 mg' is amla extract, not vitamin C - the real dose is often 40-80 mg. We scored 8 supplements on true ascorbic acid content, buffered form, purity evidence and cost, and named the few that tell you what is inside.

7.2/ 10
supplements

Best Zinc Supplements in India (2026): Top Picks Reviewed & Ranked

Most Indian zinc labels shout a salt weight, not the zinc itself - so a '50 mg' bottle can hold 10 mg. We scored 9 zinc supplements on true elemental dose, form, published testing, tolerability and cost per day, and named the ones whose numbers actually add up.

7.1/ 10
supplements

Best Iron Supplements in India (2026): Top Picks Reviewed & Ranked

Iron-deficiency anaemia is India's most common deficiency, especially in women. We scored and ranked 12 iron supplements on bioavailable form, GI comfort, elemental dose and true per-tablet value — plus why you should test your ferritin before you start.

9.0/ 10
supplements

Best Vitamin K2 Supplements in India (2026): Top Picks Reviewed & Ranked

From India's most-bought everyday D3+K2 to verified all-trans MenaQ7 imports and the lowest-cost standalone MK-7, we scored and ranked 14 vitamin K2 supplements on form and bioavailability, dosage, purity, value and real buyer feedback.

9.0/ 10
supplements

Best Vitamin B-Complex Supplements in India (2026): Top Picks Reviewed & Ranked

From fully methylated active-form capsules to the best-value complete 8-vitamin tablets, we scored and ranked 11 Indian B-complex supplements on formulation, B12 and folate quality, purity, tolerability and true cost per serving — with the vegetarian B12 gap front and centre.

8.9/ 10